Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’m got back home safely this weekend and had a nice pile of cards waiting for me. The scanner here is not as easy to use as the one I have at school, so posts may be a little less frequent.

I have two new UNESCO sites to share today. Both sites are actually a combination of many different places in the same town.

This first card is from Saltaire, England. The whole village is listed as a World Heritage Site. This card shows (clockwise from top left) the United Reformed Church, Victoria Hall, Leeds-Liverpool Canal, and Shipley College. Each building is individually listed and protected, with the Church having the highest level of protection. This card comes to me from Eileen from the Postcrossing forum. Luckily, Eileen had these cards but is not a UNESCO collector herself. I am very far away from the closest UNESCO site when I’m at school, so I don’t have those cards to send. I’m very happy when I can add to my collection by swapping another kind of card.

Eileen used one of England’s Christmas stamps, too:

The second card comes from Abu in Malaysia:

This card shows the Khoo Kongsi clanhouse in Georgetown, Penang. This is just one of the gorgeous buildings that comprise the site of Georgetown and Melaka, Historic Cities of the Straits of Malacca.

Abu is trying to collect a map of all fifty states. I offered him Pennsylvania in exchange for this card, but there are still many that he is seeking. As you can see, he sends lovely cards in return. If you’re in the US and active on the Postcrossing forum, check out his request here.

Well, those are all the cards for today! The mail seems to be slowing down because of the holidays. What arrived in your mailbox this weekend?