Tags

, ,

I am back safely in Portland. My mailbox was stuffed with 21 new cards and a penpal letter! It’s good that I still have several days before classes start so I can catch up on scanning and posting.

For today, there is this card from Bree in Malaysia. Bree runs a great postcard blog called Say it Like you Eat it. I love the cute mailart and drawings she makes!

The card shows the A’ Famosa fort in Melaka (also known as Port de Santiago). It is part of the UNESCO World Heritage site Melaka and George Town, Historic Cities of the Straits of Malacca. I have one other card from this site, showing the Khoo Kongsi clanhouse.

Looking up information about this site was really frustrating. It’s not clear at all which specific buildings are part of the UNESCO site of Melaka and Georgetown. I am pretty sure that the fort, built by Portuguese settlers (invaders?) in 1511, is part of the site.

 

