Tags

, ,

Today in the United States is Father’s Day, which celebrates fathers and fatherhood. I have two posts for today — first, featuring postcards sent by my own dad, and second, featuring postcards sent to me by my boyfriend’s dad.

In 1997 my dad took a trip to Italy and sent a postcard to my mom and me almost every other day he was there. My parents were cleaning up their house to prepare to move and my mom gave me these cards to add to my postcard collection. They are the oldest cards sent to me that I have, so in many ways, these cards are the start of my postcard collecting.

italy1

This card shows the Genesis Cupola in the Basilica of San Marco in Venice.

italy2

This card shows the “Apparition of the Virgin of Mount Berico” at the Church of S. Corona in Venice.

italy3

This card comes from the Castello di San Giorgio, the Ducal Palace in Mantua.

italy4

This card shows a painting, “The martyrdom of St. Sebastian” in the Basilica of St. Petronius in Bologna. The painting was made in the late 15th century, according to the card.

italy5

And last, this view of Montagnana, a town in northern Italy. I believe this card shows the medieval city wall.

These are the stamps my dad used:

ITALY-cabot-voyage ITALY-mamma-roma ITALY-montagnana

The stamp on the right shows another view of the wall and castle of Montagnana.

ITALY-normanno ITALY-uccello

That is all for now, stay tuned for another Father’s Day post later today. And because I know he’s reading, I’m wishing a big Happy Father’s Day to my own dad!

