Tags

,

In March I received two great cards of an English UNESCO site new to my collection. They came from Dave on the Postcrossing forum and show landscapes from the Dorset and East Devon coastline:

UNESCO devon harry rocks

The Old Harry Rocks are chalk formations in Dorset. Dave writes that the rocks were formed by erosion of chalk by the sea. He tells me of two possible origins of their name: they may have been named for the devil (called Old Harry), or for a local pirate, Harry Paye. The chalk cliffs were formed about 65 million years ago and are constantly being eroded and changed by the sea.

UNESCO devon stair hole

Stair Hole is just west of Lulworth Cove in Dorset. It is a good demonstration of the “Lulworth Crumple,” the folded limestone strata that rise almost vertically.

Dave sent me the cards in an envelope to save on postage, but also wrote a note on a really nice notecard that I want to share, too.

UK stamps

I really like this picture of different British stamps. It’s perfect for a mail enthusiast’s notecard!

Thanks, Dave, for all the lovely cards!

 

 

