Tags

,

Hello postcard and mail enthusiasts! It has been a month since my last post but now I have turned in my thesis and the end of college is in sight, so I should be less and less stressed and busy in the coming weeks. Today I have some unique postcards for you that my boyfriend bought from Poland. It’s hard to see in the scans but maybe you can guess what makes them different:

paperback-writer ramona-front

If you guessed that they are also music records, what a good guess! The first one plays The Beatles’ “Paperback Writer” and “Rain,” while the second one plays Louis Armstrong’s “Ramona.” The image on the second card is a painting by Stanislaw Rozwadowski called “Polowanie z gończymi na lisa” which means something about hunting dogs.

These types of cards were mostly made in Poland in the 60’s and 70’s.

As you might imagine for records that are printed on a piece of paper, they don’t sound too great, but you can have a listen anyway:

“Rain”

“Ramona”

