Tags

, , ,

A few weeks ago my parents were visiting Portland and we went to visit the Evergreen Aviation and Space Museum in McMinnville. It’s an interesting and odd place. They have two museums: one for aviation and one that’s more space focussed. There is also an indoor waterpark with fun-looking waterslides and pools for swimming. It’s a strange combination! We only went to the museum part of it. They have some interesting planes and exhibits there. We saw an SR-71 Blackbird, which holds the record for the fastest air-breathing, manned jet airplane. I featured a postcard of the SR-71 when this blog was very new.

In addition to the fastest plane, the museum had the largest plane (by wingspan) ever built:

spruce-goose-in-action

The Hughes H-4 Hercules, also known as the “Spruce Goose” was built almost entirely of wood because of metal shortages during World War II. It was constructed by Howard Hughes’ aircraft company as a flying boat that would be capable of transporting large amounts of materiel to Britain to aid in the war. It was never used for this purpose, though. Only one was every built, and it wasn’t successfully flown until 1947, after the war ended.

Sometimes I send cards to myself, but I always think it’s more fun to get cards from someone else. So my boyfriend mailed this one to me. Thanks, Augie!

