Today I have two very special cards to share:

Usually I only feature cards that others have written to me. But these cards were written by me and sent to someone very special:

My grandma would have been 89 today, but she passed away in 2009, leaving behind 5 children and 11 grandchildren. She always welcomed visits from her grandchildren with fresh baked lemon meringue pie. She kept every birthday card, postcard, and school play program that I had sent her during my childhood and had them neatly packaged to come back to me when she was gone. At the bottom of the pile, there was a card I had sent her for Valentine’s Day. Underneath where I had written “I love you, Grandma” she had written, in her neat, curly handwriting (which is so much like my mother’s and so much like mine as I get older) “I love you, too, Katy.”

Happy birthday, Grandma.

