Tags

, ,

I have a set of 10 cards from Ai in Japan, depicting 6 of Japan’s UNESCO sites, and I have had them since early summer, but I haven’t known where to start with all that loveliness. So I’ll start here with the Itsukushima Shinto Shrine.

UNESCO itsukushima gate

The card depicts one of the most famous sites in Japan, the Itsukushima Shrine Torii gate. The gate and the shrine are built over water because the island of Itsukushima is sacred, but the water is in between the holy and the mundane.

The stamps show more views of the shrine:

JAPAN mountain temple

 

Here you can see the gate with the mountains in the background as well as the “floating” temple.

I have 5 more UNESCO sites from Ai to share. I’m so excited. Not only is it a great addition to my collection, but they are all so beautiful!

