Tags

, , , ,

Today I’m headed back home to Pennsylvania for a spell. I won’t be away from Oregon long, since I have another final still left and, of course, moving into summer housing and starting my summer job.

So, in honor of returning to my home town, I have some cards from Pittsburgh, which is actually four hours away from my hometown, but they’re the only cards from Pennsylvania I have around. They both come from Kathy in Pittsburgh:

First is Frank Lloyd Wright’s masterpiece of Fallingwater. There’s a good reason why it’s on the UNESCO tentative list: this house is gorgeous and integrates the living space with nature so seamlessly. If it weren’t for the tourists, you might not notice that there’s a house there at all.

Right in the city is the Duquesne Incline, one of two inclined railways left in Pittsburgh. In addition to having many bridges, Pittsburgh has many tunnels and hills that go straight up. I unfortunately didn’t have a chance to ride the Duquesne Incline on my last trip to Pittsburgh, although it was on my list. Luckily, I don’t think that my last trip will be my final trip there. Pittsburgh is a nice city; I’d be happy to return.

