Tags

, , ,

My UNESCO collection is coming right along, as of today I have 65 sites represented in my collection. Today I have some beautiful places from the Balkan peninsula to share.

Pierresurleciel sends this card of the old walled city of Dubrovnik, Croatia, an important seaport on the Adriatic Sea. Legend has it that Dubrovnik was settled in the 7th century, but some archeological evidence indicates that it may be even older than that. Walking amongst those old walls, with that beautiful sun and the blue waters of the Adriatic nearby, I think that George Bernard Shaw’s description that “If you want to see heaven on earth, come to Dubrovnik” may be quite accurate.

I’m not sure what the stamp is showing, but it’s a nice one.

And from the other side of the peninsula is this card of Saint Panteleimon’s monastery, from anagahan in Macedonia. The cultural and natural heritage of the Ohrid region comprises many churches and areas, Saint Panteleimon’s is one of the most famous.

This is only my second card from Macedonia, but it’s a great one!

