Tags

, , ,

When I saw this card in nataliko’s offers, I immediately wanted it:

It’s a reprint of a USSR poster showing (please correct me if I’m wrong) cosmonaut Yuri Gagarin, first human in outer space.

Nataliko writes that when she was a child she dreamed of being an astronomer and discovering new planets and (maybe!) new life forms! That is the most exciting thing about space, that somewhere out there in that vastness there might be intelligent beings like us. I don’t know if we’ll ever find anything like that in my lifetime, but then again, when my parents were born, we hadn’t been in space at all, so certainly a lot can happen in one lifetime. Unfortunately, it seems that at least in the USA, we don’t have as much passion for space travel as we did in the 1960s. Perhaps we can get that enthusiasm back, and then maybe I’ll be blogging about my postcards from the Moon.

