Tags

, , , ,

I apparently really like Kizhi Pogost, the Russian UNESCO site. I had no idea I liked it so much until I realized that I had asked three different swapping partners for a Kizhi Pogost card over the course of a few weeks. I kept forgetting that I had already asked for a Kizhi Pogost card, and then when I discovered it was missing from my UNESCO collection, I asked for another, and so on, until three of them arrived in my mailbox this week. Luckily, they are three very different views of the site:

First is this multiview, which shows an aerial view of the whole site (middle left) and some other interesting views from the area. I love the girls in traditional dress at the bottom!

Kizhi consists of the two churches and a belltower enclosed within a wall and it is located on Kizhi Island in Lake Onega. Access to the island can be difficult, since there aren’t major transportation routes nearby, but you can get there from the regional capital by hydrofoil, cruise ship, helicopter, or ‘snow cat’ (winter only).

The two churches are the 9-domed Church of the Intercession and the magnificent 22 dome Church of the Transfiguration:

All the structures that are part of the pogost were built in the 1700s completely out of wood. It is amazing that the builders achieved so much complexity using only wood, and that the structures have survived so long.

This last card isn’t from inside the pogost, but is from the village of Volkostrov on the island:

I like how there are so many styles of windmills from all over the world. I love seeing the blades of mills turning so peacefully in the breeze.

Many thanks to miezilein, nataliko, and greta007 for these three cards!

 

