Tags

, , , ,

I’m jotting off a quick post now to procrastinate on packing up to move back out to Oregon. My flight leaves bright and early Friday morning. I am completely baffled about how I’m going to take all my cards back with me- I not only have 60 received cards to take along, but I’ve acquired many books of new postcards, and the box I brought them in is overflowing!

But I won’t worry about that for now, and will instead share these two cards which come from Brian in England:

The top card shows Durham Castle and the bottom card shows Durham Cathedral. The cathedral is the resting place of St. Cuthbert, St. Oswald, and the Venerable Bede, who is also known as the “Father of English History.” The Cathedral is also apparently the model for the Hogwarts school in the Harry Potter films, according to Wikipedia.

Brian writes that the castle in Durham is still part of their University, and some students actually get to live there! I think college is a life-changing experience, imagine how much different my life would be if I lived in a castle!

These two cards check off one more UNESCO site from my list. Durham Castle and Cathedral were inscribed as one site in 1986.

