Because I definitely needed more choices for postcards to send, I bought a book of Simpsons postcards from eBay. The Simpsons has been one of my favorite TV shows since I was old enough to watch it. Postcards featuring that yellow family seemed perfect for combining two of my favorite things:

Greetings from the Simpsons (1990, Harper Perennial) has 16 different postcard designs, and a total of 32 cards to mail. The cards feature character bios for 15 different characters: the five Simpsons, Patty and Selma, Grampa Simpson, Principal Skinner, Mrs. Krabappel, Mr. Burns, Krusty, Sideshow Bob, Itchy and Scratchy, Moe, and Bleeding Gums Murphy. I thought the choice of some of the characters was a little odd (was Bleeding Gums Murphy a really popular character? why Moe and no Barney?) but I think they’ll be good to have around to send to other Simpsons fans. These cards were published when the show was still so new, so all the characters look slightly different.

The actual cards are on the thin side, but certainly mailable. They are extra large postcards, nearly 5 by 7 inches, so they require a first class (44¢) stamp to be mailed in the USA. I wish I had more of the Simpsons commemorative stamps that were issued a few years ago to use with these. That would be perfect!

Here are the cards featuring the Simpson family:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

