The 3rd package I got this week was a book of cow postcards, from ebay. I need to stop buying cards that are so cute I resist parting with them. Cows are just the greatest! Case in point:

a Scottish highland cow

Who knew that cows could be so fuzzy?? I just want to cuddle with her and her impish little calf.

Guernsey cows

Ah me I busted out
Don’t even ask me how
I went to get some help
I walked by a Guernsey cow
Who directed me down
To the Bowery slums
Where people carried signs around
Saying, “Ban the bums”

So, these don’t really look like they’ll be giving directions to anyone, and certainly not to slums. They’re too busy chewing their cud and chilling. Apparently, Guernsey cows are the most docile breed of cows, which is saying something, when you belong to a species whose primary attack method is mooing. And tail-flicking.

brown Swiss cow

Who couldn’t love cows? Yoghurt, ice cream, cheese, milk, butter… they all come from the same magical animal! So, next time you see a cow, give it a hug!

This postcard book features 20 picture postcards of cows; I bought mine off of ebay, so it only had 18 cards. They are the perforated type, but are pretty easy to remove.

Postcards: Cows of Vermont, published by Globe Pequot Press, photographs by Lynn M. Stone. Purchase.

Guernsey cow quotation: Bob Dylan’s 115th Dream, written by Bob Dylan

