Tags

, ,

I like how my shortest distance and longest distance received postcards (so far) came in the same week. Here’s my first card from China:

CN-443096

It’s a traditional Chinese style of painting, which the ancient Chinese used for “scenery recording” and also “mind expression.” The sender says she wonders if people in ancient times were happier than we are now. I wonder that, too. On the one hand, there was more disease and there weren’t all the conveniences we have now. On the other, there wasn’t as much pollution and the conveniences we have now don’t seem to make life much simpler. Even with the internet and the automobile, I’ve never found time to sit and paint such a beautiful painting (or even a mediocre one.) I think we all need more time to sit and think.

Postcard: “Afternoon Garden” unknown publisher.

